Five Thousand Whats

Mostly Bright Ideas

SubscriberAs I write this paragraph, my blog is racing past a milestone that I would have, at one time, thought unreachable: five thousand subscribers. Now before you go getting all impressed – or thinking that I’m trying to impress you – please keep reading.

What does it mean to have five thousand followers? To the uninformed, including me just a few months ago, it suggests that a certain number of people are receiving an email notice whenever I publish something. If logic follows closely behind, we might then conclude that most of them would actually be reading the posts. That’s why they subscribed, isn’t it? Because they don’t want to miss a single word!

There’s a part of me that would like to believe that. Meanwhile, however, all the other parts conspire to assure me that this is some sort of mistake, a clerical error that has landed at least…

View original post 732 more words

Comments are closed.