Women in IT – The final frontier?

Little Miss Geek

By Ed Jones
First published in Girly Geekdom

First and foremost I have to say I feel very privileged to be writing for Girly Geekdom, especially considering I’m a boy! Never one to shy away from controversy, I thought I’d jump right in and talk about an area I’m comfortable with, Women in IT.

Working within the marketing department for a global IT Training Company I’m surrounded by statistics on a daily basis. Part of my role is to identify trends, make inferences based on data and leverage opportunities to generate more business. So within my day to day job it’s hard not to notice one stark fact…..the lack of women participating in IT Training. And I say fact purely because I have the data to back it up.

My first insight came directly from our companies Facebook following, of the 899 followers, only 16.9% are Female. In isolation this figure; whilst concerning…

View original post 566 more words

Leave a Reply

